Skip to main content
HomePresident's Message

President's Message



Thank you for visiting the Unstoppable Upsilon Phi Omega virtual home. I am privileged to serve as the 14th President of Upsilon Phi Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®. Since January 31, 1998, Upsilon Phi Omega (UPO) has been known to make history as the first graduate chapter of a Greek letter organization of primarily African American membership in Madison County, Illinois. Since 1998, UPO members have been committed to scholarship, service, and sisterhood.  


Under the leadership of our International President, Danette Anthony Reed, and Regional Director, Kiahna W. Davis, Upsilon Phi Omega (UPO) is excited to serve others in our community. UPO is a proud representative of the Confident and Captivating Central Region of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated ®. We are Unapologetically READY to SOAR to Greater Heights of Service and Sisterhood. During 2022-2026, UPO’s service goal is to improve the lives of those we serve based on our International Program Initiative: Soaring to Greater Heights of Service and Sisterhood. The five program initiatives are:


Empower Our Families

Build Our Economic Wealth

Enhance Our Environment

Advocate for Social Justice

Uplift Our Local Community

UPO is a chapter of resourceful members: university administrators, educators, business professionals, and entrepreneurs who would look forward to collaborating with our community members. To members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated ® looking for a new home, we extend a warm, heartfelt sisterly invitation to consider Upsilon Phi Omega Chapter. To our community members, we look forward to collaborating and assisting you in promoting positive changes within our community.  

Again, thank you for looking around our virtual home. We hope you enjoy your look around our website and see how proud we are of serving our community! 

Serving with Privilege and Gratitude,

Danielle Grimes 

Upsilon Phi Omega Chapter, President


Past Presidents


Danielle Bratton

2021 – 2023


Plesetta Clayton

2019- 2021


Heather Woodard

2017- 2018


Rena Cheeseboro

2016 - 2017

Mary Nicholas*

2014 - 2015


Devon Bruce

2011 – 2012


Cornelia Smith

2009 – 2010

Annette Stewart

2007 – 2008

Shana Carpenter

2005 – 2006

Jimmie Cooper*

2003 – 2004


Carolyn Hart Jason

2001 – 2002


Zina Cruse

1999 – 2000

Patricia Penelton*

1999 – 2000

*Ivy Beyond the Wall/ Deceased.

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Upsilon Phi Omega Chapter
UPO Privacy Policy |  Site Map


Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. is not responsible for the content of these web pages. Any information or design content listed on this website is the sole property and responsibility of the Upsilon Phi Omega Chapter who hosts and maintains this website.

Last Updated: 18 JUN 2024